Easter Dinner: Dessert First – Coconut Macaroon Nests

I’m always a fan of eating dessert first, I have more than one sweet tooth for certain. These cuties are the perfect dessert for Easter or spring in general. The recipe was inspired by a similar version I saw on one of my favorite foodie blogs Two Peas & Their Pod but modified based on a macaroon recipe my mom makes every Christmas.

I was sad to not be able to make it home for Easter this year, aside from Christmas Eve, it’s one of my favorite meals to eat together as a family. But I refused to let this stop me from whipping up an entire Easter feast (more recipes to follow). These treats were just the right amount of sweet with a touch of nostalgia and home. The recipe below will make roughly 10 nests.

Coconut Macaroon Nests

  • 3/4 cup light coconut milk, well stirred
  • 1 large egg white
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 3 1/2 cups shredded coconut
  • 1 cup Nutella
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 cup mini marshmallows
  • chocolate egg candies (2-3 per nest – I used coconut M&M eggs, which I am now in love with!)

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

Whisk together the coconut milk, egg white, vanilla and salt in a large bowl. Once combined, stir in the shredded coconut, a little bit at a time, until well mixed.

Using about 2 tablespoons of the “dough,” form nest shapes on the cookie sheet. Push down the center of each using your thumb to create a well for the chocolate filling. Bake the nests for 15-20 minutes, depending on your oven, until the coconut starts to brown. When you remove them from the oven, carefully press down in the center again and allow the nests to come down to room temperature.

To make the filling, melt the butter in a saucepan over low heat. Add in the mini marshmallows and allow them to start breaking down. Add more butter if needed, and don’t let the marshmallow burn. Once the marshmallow starts to get melty, add in the Nutella and combine well using a rubber spatula.

Let the filling cool slightly before filling the nests. Place 2-3 egg shaped candies on top and serve.

2 responses to “Easter Dinner: Dessert First – Coconut Macaroon Nests

  1. Love it! I made little Easter macaroon nests and also Easter macaroon animals (bunnies, chicks, etc)! But wow, adding Nutella is a genius idea! I don’t even know why didn’t I think of that. ❤ Nutella. There is always next year I guess!

Leave a Reply

