The City Girl Visits the Suburbs

May marks the start of our busy season at work, so before vacation time became nearly impossible to have approved, I took a quick trip home to visit my parents for a long weekend. Lucky for me, Megabus from New York to Boston was less than $20 roundtrip, so I met my mom in Boston on Thursday and spent a nice sunny day in my old home.

Boston Public Gardens

Friday night, my dad and I whipped up a big Indian inspired meal that was to-die-for. Cooking with my dad was a lot of fun, and my parents’ kitchen is considerably larger and nicer than mine, so that was a treat in and of itself. We worked off the cookbook Mighty Spice by John Gregory-Smith as well as Quick & Easy Indian Cooking by Madhur Jaffrey.

Me and dad hard at work in the kitchen.

From Gregory-Smith’s book we made Persian Saffron and Honey Lamb Stew (p. 100-101), Shrimp with Ginger and Chili (p. 139), and Gobi Masala (p. 172-173) which is Indian stir-fried cauliflower. This is a great cookbook that uses and provides information on 25 different spices used throughout the book from the well-known (black pepper, garlic, etc.) to the not-so-well-known (sumac, nigella seeds, etc.). Each recipe contains one to five of these spices. For breakfast, we made the Huevos Mexicanos (p. 152-153) which is something I will be making again and again and again.

Our Indian feast!

From Jaffrey’s book, we made Spinach with Ginger and Green Chiles (p. 96). This is another great book that my parents use frequently. It makes Indian cooking very accessible to people who are not familiar with Indian flavors. This is a cuisine that packs a lot of punch and is quite flavorful, but you don’t need to be intimidated by! We served up our dishes with some plain rice and naan bread (which we purchased frozen).

And our Huevos Mexicanos!

My mom and granny gave the whole meal two thumbs up!

Dinner out at Gaslight restaurant in Boston's South End!

Saturday night we took a break from cooking to enjoy a French meal at Gaslight in Boston. My sister joined us for dinner so we had some good quality family time over some amazing dishes, including escargots, mussels, duck, and yellowfin tuna! I highly recommend checking this place out if you are in the Boston area.

"Woof!"

And of course, no trip would be complete without hanging out with my amazing dog, Daisy. She’s a 14-year-old collie who is absolutely adorable!

One response to “The City Girl Visits the Suburbs

  1. Pingback: Chinese Tiger Salad & Stir Fried Beef with Black Pepper and Basil | the city girl cooks·

Leave a Reply

