Dr Pepper Pulled Pork Sammies

I can vividly recall the moment that Nick found out I absolutely detest Dr Pepper. We’d been dating somewhere around six months, which was a good thing because when he finally regained the ability to speak, he told me that he would never consider dating a girl who he knew didn’t love Dr Pepper. I only made things worse by admitting that I also dislike any variety of cherry cola. Just to prove I wasn’t kidding, I had a sip of his soda and nearly spit it out. Luckily, we somehow managed to move on with our relationship after this startling discovery.

Despite my hatred for drinking a Dr Pepper, I actually really enjoy it with pulled pork. Those 23 super secret flavors do some amazing things when you throw them in a slow cooker with some pork and an onion.

To finish it off, I jazzed up some store bought BBQ sauce with some spices, a little mustard, and some honey. And of course, serving them up on some onion rolls and turning them into sandwiches is just more fun. I’m a big fan of sandwiches and these really hit the spot.

Dr Pepper Pulled Pork Sammies

  • 5 pound bone-in pork shoulder, trimmed
  • 24 oz Dr Pepper (not diet)
  • 1 large yellow onion, sliced
  • 2 tsp red pepper flake
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 18 oz BBQ sauce
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup spicy brown mustard
  • 1 package onion rolls

Add the sliced onion to a slow cooker so that it covers the bottom. Place the pork shoulder on top and pour in the Dr Pepper. Cover and cook on low for 6-7 hours or on high for 3-4 hours.

When it’s ready, remove the pork and pull the pork using two forks. Strain the onions and mix them in with the pork and discard the liquid. Return the pork and onions to the slow cooker. Then stir in the spices, sauce, honey, and mustard until they are well combined and the pork is coated evenly.

Serve the pork on onion rolls alongside some of your favorite side dishes – I made some sweet potato fries and a rainbow cole slaw. This time, when I made the fries I took out the chili powder and added just a dash of ground nutmeg instead. Yum, yum!

Leave a Reply

