Summertime Salad Time

Sometimes I get really caught up in my day and don’t have time to plan dinner. I got to the store and the only thing on my list was “breadcrumbs for chicken” at Nick’s request. The problem was, I knew I needed veggies, but since I hadn’t planned ahead I put whatever looked good and fresh in my basket and ended up with a whole lot more veggies than I probably needed. This salad was huge. But it was also delicious, and that’s all that matters. Good thing too, because if it was bad, it would literally take forever to get through it all.

I served this salad up with some chicken breast tenders breaded in Panko. And cooked in a little bit of EVOO. Yum! Of course I forgot to put “eggs” next to “breadcrumbs” on my list, so Nick had to make a pit stop at the bodega for me on his way home. I really need to get back to doing some serious meal planning so that I don’t hit these kinds of road blocks.

The chicken was good, but the salad was my favorite part of dinner for sure. Make whatever substitutions you like, but make sure you toss in the lime juice at the end. I almost didn’t, but saw that I had one kicking around in the fridge, and it was the perfect finish to the salad; it adds a nice, tangy kick to the end.

Summertime Salad Time

  • 1 medium red onion, sliced
  • 1 red bell pepper, sliced
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 8 oz button mushrooms, halved
  • 8 oz snap peas, trimmed
  • 6 oz frozen edamame, shelled and thawed
  • 1 bunch scallions, sliced thin
  • 3 cloves garlic, grated
  • 1″ piece fresh ginger, grated
  • 2 oz bean sprouts
  • 1 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1 lime, zest and juice

Heat some oil in a Dutch oven or deep sided skillet over medium heat. Add the onion, bell pepper, and plenty of salt and pepper to the pot. Cook the veggies until they are softened, about 7 to 10 minutes. You don’t want them to brown, so turn the heat down if necessary and make sure they’ve been salted which will sweat the veggies instead of browning them.

Add in the mushrooms and peas and continue to cook for another 2-3 minutes. Add in the edamame, scallions, garlic and ginger. Stir everything together well to mix up the garlic and ginger. Make sure the edamame is fully warmed through. Just before serving, add the sprouts and the seeds and dress with the lime zest and juice.

Leave a Reply

