Cajun Fish with Cabbage and Bacon Saute

Nick and I spent Saturday at Rockaway beach with some of our good friends. We had a lot of fun and I even went in the water up to my waist. That’s a huge accomplishment for me as I usually only go into the ocean by force.

Back on dry land, I finally started reading an Issue of Real Simple magazine that I’d picked up at the store a few days prior. I saw this awesome fish recipe and was intrigued. I liked that I already had a good portion of the ingredients in my kitchen and I loved that it only took 30 minutes to prepare.

We wandered around the boardwalk in search of food and I grabbed a Shrimp Po Boy that was to die for and only further solidified my craving for more cajun food. So for Sunday Dinner we had some amazing fish that stayed 99% true to the Real Simple recipe. I wasn’t able to find good quality fresh fish, so I used frozen cod filets that I defrosted and then cooked using the guidelines in the recipe. I found that I needed an additional two minutes of cooking time. Unfortunately, frozen fish can tend to be a bit rubbery, and while this was still really great, I encourage you to seek out fresh fish if you can.

I omitted the cider vinegar and added in some garlic. I also didn’t measure the cajun seasoning and just used what “looked right” (luckily, it also tasted right). When Nick and Nathan dug in, I got some of the most positive reactions I’ve received on my cooking.

Cajun Fish with Cabbage and Bacon Saute

  • 4 white fish filets, about 6 oz (I used 6 cod filets, about 4 oz)
  • 2 tsp EVOO
  • 2 tsp cajun seasoning, or enough to coat the fish to your liking
  • 4 slices bacon
  • 1 bunch scallions, thinly chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups frozen corn kernels
  • 1 small head green cabbage, thinly sliced
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

Pat the fish filets dry using paper towels. Place the fish in a rimmed baking dish and coat with the oil and cajun seasoning. Cover the baking dish in foil and cook 12-14 minutes, until the fish is cooked through and flaking.

Meanwhile, cook up the bacon in a large skillet. Remove the crispy bacon and set aside on a paper towel. Cook the scallions and garlic in the bacon fat for 1-2 minutes and then toss in the corn, cabbage, salt and pepper. Saute until the cabbage wilts, about 5 minutes.

Crumble the bacon and toss it in with the cabbage. Serve alongside the fish and watch your tablemates fall in love!

Leave a Reply

