Potato & Leek Birthday Soup

I’ve just gotten back from a fantastic trip to Boston where I spent some good quality time with my family for my mom’s birthday. I’m not sure if it was all the rain or my parents’ resistance to turning on the heat so early in the season, but it was pretty cold while I was there and it was the perfect opportunity to whip up some yummy, warm soup as a birthday surprise for my mom.

Of course, I can’t take all the credit. I actually found this recipe here and followed it closely minus the omission of the cornstarch. I also chose to serve the soup up with some thick cut bacon and chives on top. You won’t need sour cream as the soup itself is already quite creamy. To go alongside, I also sautéed some asparagus in the bacon fat and my dad made halibut cheeks in lemon.

mom, Annie & me at dinner

The following night, the whole family went out to dinner at The Elephant Walk in Cambridge, which is a great French-Cambodian restaurant and my first experience with Cambodian food. The menu is roughly one third Cambodian, one third French, and one third hybrid of both so there’s something for everyone. We sampled the Cambodian spring rolls for an appetizer and I stole a bite of mom’s Avocat Kanthor salad which was made from avocado and raw tuna with some greens. Dinner was Curry de Crevettes, or shrimp curry which was quite like Thai style red curry and for dessert everyone split a banana cream dish with a very long French name. This is definitely a place you should check out if you’re in the area, everything was cooked perfectly and the service was fantastic.

Potato & Leek Birthday Soup

  • 2 sticks butter, melted
  • 2 leeks, cut into half moons
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 5 yukon gold potatoes, cut into 1/2″ dice with skins on
  • 1 qt chicken stock
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 4 slices bacon, roughly chopped for topping
  • chives, for topping

Saute the leeks in the melted butter over medium heat in a soup pot for 10 to 15 minutes, until the leeks are soft. Season them with plenty of salt and pepper.

Once soft, add the potatoes, stock, and cream to the pot and season more if needed. Bring the soup up to a boil and then reduce to a simmer for 30 to 45 minutes until the potatoes are tender.

Serve the soup with the bacon and chives on top.

Leave a Reply

