Pork on Pork Burgers with Broccoli Slaw

March was a terrible month for blogging, but overall a terrific month for me. I spent two weeks interviewing for a big promotion at work which was a pretty crazy experience. It all paid off though, figuratively and literally, because I found out that I got the promotion.

The next day, I left for a much needed vacation to Seattle where I saw one of my very good friends, explored a new city, and went on an amazing wine tasting and brewery tour! It was a great trip and I got to eat some awesome food (tempura fried bacon anyone?).

After my vacation, I was only in New York another few days before flying west again for training at our San Francisco office. In between all of the work, I was able to squeeze in a little fun. I had one of the best meals of my life at Market One restaurant. Thanks to a well connected boss, we snagged a seat at the chef’s table and got to try nearly everything on the menu – including lamb’s tongue! The other highlight of the meal was a bacon wrapped pork that was to-die-for.

So when I finally got back into a routine of being at home and cooking dinner, I was excited to try out some new recipes. You’ll notice that in both of my travel stories I mentioned bacon, so of course it’s a key ingredient in the recipe below.

20130407-132206.jpg

Pork on Pork Burgers with Broccoli Slaw

Makes 4-1/2 pound burgers.

  • 1 cup shredded cabbage
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 1 cup shredded broccoli
  • 1 cup plus 1/2 cup watercress, divided
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 12 slices bacon
  • 2 lbs ground pork
  • 1 tbsp dried oregano
  • 1 tbsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp red pepper flake
  • 1 red onion, sliced
  • 4 hamburger buns

Combine everything from the cabbage down to the garlic powder in a salad bowl. Mix thoroughly so that the slaw is evenly coated with the seasonings and vinegar. Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Cook the bacon in a skillet until it is nice and crispy. Drain the bacon slices on a paper towel lined platter. Reserve a few tablespoons of the bacon fat for cooking the burgers.

Combine the ground pork with the oregano, basil, red pepper, salt and pepper. Form 4-1/2 pound patties and cook in the bacon fat until the pork is cooked through, about 7 minutes per side.

Assemble the burgers with the reserved watercress, bacon, and red onions. Serve up the slaw on the side.

One response to “Pork on Pork Burgers with Broccoli Slaw

  1. Your travels sound like so much fun! San Francisco is one of my favorite cities to visit. The recipe sounds easy and simply delightful! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

