Vinegar Braised Chicken with Pearl Onions

Well blog fans… there’s really no excuse for my absence over the last 8 months, other than the fact that things got pretty crazy. Unfortunately, I really wasn’t feeling very motivated to blog or write very often – much to the disappointment of several friends and family members who have frequently reminded me to start blogging again. It’s a few days early for New Year’s resolutions, but this is me resolving to blog more and certainly to cook more.

Despite the lack of blogging, there hasn’t been a lack of activity in the kitchen. I’ve been just as busy as ever whipping up a storm in there. In October, I joined WeightWatchers to help me concentrate on portions and eating a balanced diet. As well as we eat at home, lunch times and breakfasts on the go were killing me; and although I didn’t see too much of an increase on the scale, I certainly felt sluggish and run down. Three months into the plan, I’ve noticed some huge changes: more energy, clearer skin, a few less pounds, and feeling more fulfilled following meals.

The recipe below is one that I adapted from Bon Appetit magazine to fit with the WW plan. One serving of my chicken has only 6 PlusPoints values, whereas one serving of the original recipe has 14. The biggest change I made was with the proportions; 2 pounds of onions and 5 pounds of chicken for only 6 servings just seems like an awful lot of food to me. My version was filling and was well complemented by a fresh arugula salad with some black quinoa. The tangy vinegar mixed so well with the peppery arugula, I actually used some of the sauce from my chicken in lieu of dressing!


Vinegar Braised Chicken with Pearl Onions

Vinegar Braised Chicken with Pearl Onions 

Serves: 8

  • 6 slices low sodium bacon, diced
  • 1 lb frozen pearl onions, thawed
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 4 bone-in, skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 cups fat free chicken stock
  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 cup red wine vinegar
  • 3 bay leaves

Saute the bacon in a large pot over medium heat until it is crisp and the fat has rendered. Remove the bacon with a slotted spoon, set aside and drain on a paper towel.

Add the onions to the pot with the bacon drippings until they are brown, 8-10 minutes. Then stir in the garlic and cook until it is fragrant, 3 minutes. Transfer the garlic and onions to a large bowl and set aside.

Season the chicken with salt and pepper. Working in batches, brown the chicken in the pot, roughly 10 minutes per batch. Remove the chicken to the bowl with the garlic and onions.

Deglaze the pot with a splash of chicken broth, scraping up all of the browned bits on the bottom. Add the rest of the broth and both vinegars and bring the mixture to a boil. Add the bay leaves, chicken, onions garlic and bacon back to the pan. Bring everything back to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Continue to simmer, partially covered for 30-45 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.

Leave a Reply

